Sunday musings and a lot of questions

Sonntag

I must start by saying the following: I love knitting.

But last weekend I went through my stash and boy this stash is huge. I think I could open a yarn shop. I have probably enough yarn to knit 16 sweaters at least!!! Not to mention a few hats and socks. But this is not supposed to be a post about stash. This is a post about consumerism.

I try to build up a self-made wardrobe by knitting and sewing the vast majority of my clothes in the sense of slow-fashion. Of course quite a few knitted pieces are still missing, but 16 sweaters?! Really? How on earth can anyone need that many? How many sweaters or hats does a girl need? And considering that I have some decades of knitting time before me, how many sweaters, hats and socks am I going to knit? Is this reasonable. As I said I love to knit and I cannot imagine stopping it. So where is this going? Isn’t it just another form of consumerism under the guise of DIY and craftsmanship?

Maybe I should find another, less productive hobby.

Are you a knitter/seamstress and have ever encountered the same question?

Ich sollte vorausschicken, dass ich stricken wirklich liebe.

Aber letztes Wochenende habe ich meine Vorräte an Wolle durchgesehen und gefühlte Tonnen zu Tage gefördert. Fast genug um einen Laden zu eröffnen. Ich habe genug um mindestens 16 Pullover zu stricken. Sechzehn… Ein paar Mützen und Socken sind auch noch drin. Aber dieser Post soll sich nicht um die Größe meines Wollvorrates drehen, sondern um das Konsumieren an sich.

Ich versuche meinen Kleiderschrank im Sinne der slow fashion weitestgehend aus selbst gemachten Stücken aufzubauen und es fehlen auf jeden Fall noch ein paar Strickstücke, aber 16 Pullover… Wie viele Pullover, Mützen und Socken braucht man eigentlich? Wenn ich daran denke, dass ich noch ein paar Jahrzehnte an Strickzeit vor mir habe, stelle ich mir schon die Frage, ob das vernünftig ist. Wie gesagt, ich liebe stricken und kann mir nicht vorstellen damit aufzuhören, aber wo soll das nur hinführen. Ist dies nicht auch nur wieder eine Form von Konsumverhalten unter dem Deckmäntelchen des Selbermachens?

Vielleicht sollte ich mir ein weiteres, weniger produktives Hobby suchen.

Strickst oder nähst du auch und hast du dir schon einmal die gleiche Frage gestellt?

3 thoughts on “Sunday musings and a lot of questions

  1. Hi Wencke,
    Personally I do not think this is consumerism, in a sense that it is not based on a ‘buy too much, use it little and throw it away quickly’ kind of attitude. I would rather compare it to a skillful tailor who keeps a good selection of material because quality does also need variety. Yes it is your hobby and not your job (yet) but the simple fact that you keep the stuff and try to keep order is already a big difference to the typical consumer mentality. You did not aquire so much yarn because you think it is ‘fashionable’, a ‘must have’ or because it was ‘on special’. You do not just dump it in a corner and never look at it again….you can and will still make magic with it for you and for others🙂

    Liebe Grüße
    Regine

I'd like to hear what you think...

